Track Listing
Loser (1)
Everybody's Laughing
If I Can't Feel Love
Shooting At The Sun (3)
The Pimp And The Whore
A Lover, Not A Friend
Shake The Tree
Somebody Get Me A Spin Doctor (2)
The Man Inside
Out Of My Head
Blown Away

(*) Best Tracks

Studio Discography & (Rank)
Backstreet Symphony (1)
Laughing On Judgement Day (2)
Behind Closed Doors (4)
Thrill Of It All (5)
Giving The Game Away (6)
Shooting At The Sun (3)

Buy it if you liked:
Thunder - Backstreet Symphony
Bowes & Morley - Moving Swifty Along
Shooting At The Sun
STC Recordings STC2003-1
Produced By: Luke Morley
Running Time: Genre: Hard Rock
Release Date: April 7 Released: UK
WebLink: Thunder

I am a long time Thunder fan, right from the debut single of their debut album. But I wasn't so happy with the band's last couple of studio releases, nor the side projects that followed those.
Not that they were bad releases, just not in the style that I most enjoyed of the band.
So a Thunder re-union was announced although impressed, was still unsure what the result would be.
The first release EP was great and any further doubts were erased with the opening track off Shooting At The Sun.
To cut straight to the point, Shooting recaptures the sound, the energy, the style and the essence of the band that were present on their essential debut and the very good follow up Laughing On Judgment Day.
Track By Track:
Loser is the ultimate opening track. A thumping beat, a hard guitar riff and those vocals! Loser is darker and heavier than the band have been since the debut and aside from an updated production sounds like it could have come from that album. A great heavy rocker.
Everybody's Laughing is representative more of the sound of the later years, but contains the hooks and melodies I couldn't find as easily in those releases.
If I Can't Feel Love is a typical Thunder semi-acoustic ballad, drenched in organ and that soulful rock sound the band portray with ease.
Shooting At The Sun starts slow and builds to a harder rocking chorus with another good hook and the feel of their earlier work.
The Pimp And The Whore was featured on the EP and is nothing short of classic uptempo Thunder.
A Lover, Not A Friend has a retro rock feel. It's a slow to mid tempo rock song that builds towards a rockier finish. More strong lead vocals and some fine organ work.
Shake The Tree again starts slow and builds in intensity. Not as strong as some other tracks, but ok.
Somebody Get Me A Spin Doctor is another album highlight. Featured on the EP late last year, this track just keeps getting better, with a killer chorus hook and some wonderfully satirical lyrics. Also sounds like the Thunder of old.
The Man Inside is a bluesy rock ballad with a touch of soul and a good retro vibe.
Out Of My Head sounds a little like the retro bluesy style of the Luke Morley solo album, Taylor/Morley sessions. A definite jazzy tone to the song. Cool track with a strong chorus.
Blown Away is another typical Thunder ballad. Acoustic as it starts, building to a rockier chorus then acoustic again, always building as the song develops.

The Bottom Line
The closest the band have sounded to their much loved debut, er, since the debut! The guys have captured the energy and the feel of those early years and thanks to the songwriting of Luke Morley, have matched the style with the quality. The songs remain some of the band's catchiest and most enjoyable in years.
The sound is back, the production is excellent and the enjoyment of this album is pure from the opening track to the closer. Welcome back guys!

Line Up
Danny Bowes: Vocals
Luke Morley: Guitar
Ben Mathews: Guitar
Harry James: Drums
Chris Childs: Bass

Additional Ratings

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)