The Poodles Sweet Trade AFM Records
· Produced By: Pontus Norgren & The Poodles

· Running Time:

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Melodic Hard Rock

· Links: Poodles
Songs: 90%
Sound: 96%
The Poodles stormed onto the scene along with Brother Firetribe and Wig Wam as a breath of fresh melodic air from Europe.
On album number two the feedback has been mixed. I hear some don't like it as much and I hear others like it more. That's what happens when the formula of the debut is changed and that is what happened here.
The band doesn't sound radically different or anything like that. But their sound has been toughened up and now sounds a little more European melodic metal than the debut album which featured a few different approaches with the song delivery.
This album is tighter, more urgent and heavier…but left behind is a little of the variety and instant chorus melodies of the debut.
Still, what we do have is another fine record filled with in your face uptempo melodic hard rockers as only the Scandinavian's can deliver.
Something that attracted me to the band in the first place was their thumping rhythm and heavy beats and the opening three songs of Sweet Trade cash in on that again.
The songs get better and better with repeat listens, but it is only seconds before the beats crash through the speakers and belt the listener about the head.
Flesh And Blood and Streets Of Fire both rock with urgency, but it is the more melodic and anthemic Seven Seas which gives me chills.
Other highlights are the barnstorming hard rock of the suitably titled Thunderball; the fast rocking but melodic Reach The Sky; the huge lighters-in-the-air ballad We Are One; the harmony filled melodic rock of Without You; the monstrous anthemic Band Of Brothers (brilliant and both songs more like the debut) and the balladesque anthem Shine which closes the album.
Highlights as you can see are numerous and the production quality of the album is once again unquestionably great!
The Bottom Line
The Poodles have their own sound and style after just two albums. Both are fine releases – this new album is more consistent in approach, but the debut remains my favourite for being more melodic and a little lighter overall. Still, perhaps the third album will mix the best of both worlds and if so – a masterpiece is just round the corner.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Metal Will Stand Tall
· Sweet Trade

Line Up:
· Jakob Samuel: Vocals
· Pontus Norgren: Guitars
· Christian Lunqvist: Drums
· Pontus Edberg: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
· The Poodles
· Pontus Norgren
Track Listing
· Flesh And Blood
· Streets Of Fire *
· Seven Seas *
· Walk The Line
· Thunderball *
· Reach The Sky
· We Are One *
· Without You *
· Band Of Brothers *
· Heaven's Closing In
· Kiss Goodbye
· Shine

--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)