Talon Fallen Angels Kivel Records
· Produced By: Ty Sims

· Running Time: 46.55

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Hard Rock

· Links: Kivel Records
Songs: 92%
Sound: 85%
Talon is back after a short 6 year wait! Sadly their original singer Michael O'Mara has departed, which was a disappointment to me – I thought he had one of the better high-range vocals about. But into his shoes steps the very capable Chandler Mogul.
I must admit I had a harder time adjusting to his vocals than I anticipated. I don't think they fit into parts of this album as well as on other parts, but overall I like his energy, attitude and upon repeat listens the overall performance.
What the band has done is nailed the songwriting. And they should have too…they have had long enough!
These are some very catchy melodic hard rock tunes, from the opening metal fury of Fallen Angels and the mid-album rocker Paradise; to the lighter-in-the-air ballad Baby Jane and the anthemic All I Ever Needed; and the more commercial melodic rock of I Won't and What About Me.
Burn is possibly the closest song to the style of the debut, but the new sound isn't far removed and it is still Talon all the way.
Production values are ok – not as strong as the debut which was a particular strong point of that release – but a little looser and not as crisp overall.
The Bottom Line
This is a fine hard rocking release, but in my opinion the band make one big mistake and that is to re-record possibly the best song from the debut album Wrecking Ball. That just invites comparisons between production quality and the new vocalist and in both cases the new version sounds weaker. Not sure why they did this…I would not have let them. That aside, all good stuff here and a welcome return from a great band.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Talon
· Fallen Angels

Line Up:
· Chandler Mogel: Vocals
· Kory Voxen, Jim Kee: Guitars
· John Parker: Drums
· Phil Keller: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
· Old School American Hard Rock
Track Listing
· Fallen Angels *
· Burn...
· What About Me *
· Baby Jane *
· Always Be My Baby
· Paradise *
· I Won't *
· Crying In The Dark
· Live Free
· All I Ever Needed *
· Wrecking Ball
· C'Est La Vie

--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)