Rob Rock Holy Hell AFM Records
Produced By: Roy Z

Running Time: 44.06

Release Date: Out Now

Released: EU

Musical Style: Hard Rock / Melodic Metal

Links: Rob Rock
Songs: 87%
Sound: 93%
Some are calling this the melodic metal album of the year. I don't agree to that extent, but Rob Rock fans will surely be delighted with his new release. There is no doubt this is a quality release and continues in the exact vein of Rob's previous work.
Joining Rob once again is guitarist/producer Roy Z, who is busier than ever this year with Bruce Dickinson and Masterplan already under his belt. I would have to rate Masterplan as this year's best metal album to date, but this isn't far behind it.
Rob is singing like a star and it doesn't even need mentioning what a guitar hero Roy Z is.
The album offers no surprises, which is the only factor which might keep it contained to established fans, rather than breaking into new territory. Slayer Of Souls gets the album off to a fast and furious start, with vocals, guitars and double-kick drums going in all directions.
Although the album is almost entirely uptempo and in your face, thankfully there is some variation in pace. First Winds Of The End Of Time is a mouthful of a title and provides some of the album's chunkiest riff moments.
The huge sounding Calling Angels has to be called an album highlight, even when there are no weak tracks included.
I am really pleased to see a good ballad included. The softly sung I'll Be Waiting For You allows Rock to showcase a more melodic and passionate side to his vocal talents.
Swirling keyboards and guitars are only outdone by Rock's monstrous vocals. Rock fans will be united in their praise of this album as there are no dud tracks.
If there was to be any criticism it would be that there is only 9 new tracks and perhaps the format matches that of previous albums too closely. Minor points.
The Bottom Line
As stated earlier, Rob Rock fans will love this and no doubt already own a copy. For those that don't and like high energy melodic metal, this is definitely another highlight in a year dominated by strong metal releases.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
Rage Of Creation
Eyes of Eternity
Holy Hell

Line Up
Rob Rock: Vocals
Roy Z, Bob Rossi, Rick Renstrom, Carljohan Grimmark: Guitars
Bobby Jarzombek: Drums
Andreas Olsson: Bass
Mistheria: Keyboards

Essential for fans of:
Rob Rock
Roy Z
Track Listing
Slayer Of Souls*
First Winds Of The End Of Time*
Calling Angels*
Holy Hell
Lion Of Judah
I'm A Warrior
I'll Be Waiting For You*
When Darkness Reigns
The Revelation
--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)