Pretty Maids Wake Up To The Real World Frontiers Records
Produced By: Pretty Maids

Running Time: 45.15

Release Date: Out Now


Musical Style: Melodic Hard Rock

Links: Frontiers
Songs: 90%
Sound: 88%
Great record this one but I had to re-check what I was listening to a couple of times.
Danish rockers Pretty Maids have re-grouped after a 4 year break and returned with a fresh, updated sound that could see them pick up some new fans. The band's sound has been updated a little and the album swaps back and forth between the expected European melodic hard rock and some modern rock influences.
The changes within this album work well for the guys and I don't think they are at risk of losing any old fans, as at the heart of the record is some good old-fashioned, likable songs.
The band sticks to their tried and true sound on the opening rocker Wake Up To The Real World and the double time rocker Why Die For A Lie and the in-your-face Terminal Violence, not to mention the slow and moody Perfect Strangers.
I Am The End is a mixture of modern rock and melodic metal which works quite well for the guys. It has an aggressive yet melodic feel and the vocals of Ronnie Atkins are perfect for the style.
The mid-tempo modern rocker As Guilty As You sees the sound modernized even further while at the same time, the melodic hooks are turned up again. Such A Rush is classic European melodic rock while Where Beauty Lies is a passionate and heartfelt rock ballad.
And the closing number Another Shot Of Your Love is a great melodic rock ballad, with a thoroughly commercial hook.
The Bottom Line
Some good decisions were made in writing this album. Plenty of the old with a little of the new, all the time making sure whatever was recorded suited the band and importantly, the fan also. I think those fans are going to dig this and I think the band have started a new chapter of their existence with this album.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
Pretty Maids
Red, Hot And Heavy
Future World
Jump The Gun
Sin Decade
Anything Worth Doing Is Worth Overdoing
Carpe Diem
Planet Panic
Wake Up To The Real World

Line Up:
Ronnie Atkins: Vocals
Ken Hammer: Guitars
Allan Tschicaja: Drums
Ken Jackson: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
Pretty Maids
Europan Melodic Hard Rock
Track Listing
Wake Up To The Real World *
All In The Name of Love
I Am The End
As Guilty As You *
Why Die For A Lie
Such A Rush *
Where True Beauty Lies *
Brave Young New Breed
Terminal Violence
Perfect Strangers
Another Shot Of You Love *

--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)