Jorn The Duke AFM Records
· Produced By: Jorn Lande + Jörn Viggo Lofstad

· Running Time:

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Melodic Metal / Hard Rock

· Links: Jorn Lande
Songs: 86%
Sound: 95%
After delivering what I considered to be the two finest albums of 2006, the amazing Jorn Lande fires back with his forth solo album. The Duke is a more straight ahead melodic metal outing than the progressive leaning Out To Every Nation and is more musically aligned with his band of the moment Masterplan.
Featuring a powerhouse metal line up, The Duke features 10 in your face rocking tracks with only a couple of moments where proceedings slow down in any form.
Each of Jorn's solo albums have had different elements of appeal and it is hard to pick any one over another.
This album is on par with Jorn's best and is perhaps his most consistent and cohesive solo album to date, with no deviations from the musical purpose of the record. No experimental moments here – this is pure smoking hard rock n roll!
The Duke best represents what Jorn the singer is. Smoking melodic metal sung with soul and passion and that unmistakable comparison to David Coverdale, only more vibrant and energetic!
The only criticisms I have is the fact the material doesn't explore any new ground for Jorn whatsoever. All in all, the album is fairly predictable and that there are really only 8 new songs here. Starfire is from Jorn's solo debut and Are You Ready is a straight forward cover of the Thin Lizzy classic.
Highlights include the powerful metal anthem We Brought The Angels Down; the very melodic, yet in your face metal of Blacksong; the double kick rum fuelled rocker Stormcrow; and End Of Time, which features a dark mood, but a real swagger and some powerful layered vocals.
Duke Of Love is an unusual track – it is a very commercial slice of hard rock with a catchy chorus, but for some reason I have had trouble warming to it.
One track on from that is Burning Chains, a track which features Jorn's best Coverdale vocal yet.
The Bottom Line
The Duke is another highly enjoyable release from Jorn and is perhaps his most consistent solo record yet. But it is also one that doesn't quite match expectations – which admittedly were very high and personally I still rate Worldchanger as my favourite.
It is a sonically amazing record, with a razor sharp sound and powerful delivery, driven by a solid collection of songs which includes a few truly great numbers. But my favourite Jorn albums remain those featuring the singer at work with others, such as Millenium, Allen/Lande and of course Masterplan.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Starfire
· Worldchanger
· Out To Every Nation
· Allen/Lande
· The Duke

Line Up:
· Jorn Lande: Vocals
· Jorn Viggo Lofstad, Tore Moren: Guitars
· Willy Bendiksen: Drums
· Morty Black: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
· Jorn Lande
· Masterplan
· Alen/Lande - The Battle
If you liked this release - also check out:
· Masterplan - Masterplan
Track Listing
· We Brought The Angels Down *
· Blacksong *
· Stormcrow *
· End Of Time *
· Duke Of Love
· Burning Chains *
· After The Dying
· Midnight Madness
· Are You Ready
· Starfire (2005 version)
--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)