Jorn Spirit Black Frontiers Records
· Produced By: Jorn Lande

· Running Time: 40.47

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Melodic Metal / Hard Rock

· Links: Frontiers
Songs: 87%
Sound: 94%
I have said it many times before – Jorn is one of the great hard rock vocalists of all time and definitely one of my favourites.
But I have come to await his releases with less anticipation each release. I simply find that Jorn the solo artist is now spending a great deal of time repeating the same formula over and over. As with the most of his solo albums fans only get 9 new tracks and of those tracks, one is normally "borrowed" or updated from past recordings.
And the songs are much the same slow to mid tempo plodding style, something which has really become an issue with me now, as when Jorn fires it up he is untouchable (Sunset Station, Gate Of Tears, Worldchanger and the Masterplan material).
But as with all Jorn releases, this still a quality release and something I will play consistently for a period. The new album is Spirit Black and sure enough, the formula is once again in play here. 9 tracks, most of them hard, heavy and slow to mid-tempo. No surprise to find myself thinking half the album has gone by, only to realize I'm only on track 3.
The first 4 songs of the album are all good, with Spirit Black and Road Of The Cross stand out for me. But there is nothing more that I would love than a double time kick-drum fuelled opening track from the great singer.
City In Between is a slow intense rocker with a somewhat softer veneer than the first half of the album and features a great melodic chorus and lead vocal.
Then for the first time in a long while the tempo picks up…Rock N Roll Angel is a more traditional hard rock track than I have heard from Jorn in a while and I love it – great vocal melodies.
And wham! Burn Your Flame finally sees Jorn into overdrive. The song could be complete shit and still appeal due to the tempo finally reaching furious, but thankfully it isn't.
World Gone Mad continues the uptempo flurry of the second half of the record and is another solid, simple hard rocker with another good chorus melody.
Another plodder closes the album, but the intensity of the vocal and the manner in which it is delivered makes it stand out among other plodders in Jorn's repertoire.
The Bottom Line
Spirit Black is no great deviation from Jorn's solo career to date, but it does come across as a stronger record and overall one of the better solo albums. I still prefer the first few albums over the last two or three, but hopefully Jorn will continue to move in the direction set out here and the next album might further vary things up a little.
Always consistent and better than most, but long time fans are still waiting for that classic, which has been on the verge ever since the debut solo release.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Starfire
· World Changer
· Out To Every Nation
· The Duke
· Unlocking The Past
· The Gathering
· Lonely Are The Brave
· Spirit Black

Line Up:
· Jorn Lande: Vocals
· Jimmy Iversen, Tore Moren: Guitars
· Willy Bendiksen: Drums
· Sid Ringsby: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
· Jorn Lande
· Masterplan
Track Listing
· Spirit Black *
· Below
· Road of the Cross
· The Last Revolution
· City Inbetweeen
· Rock And Roll Angel *
· Burn Your Flame *
· World Gone Mad *
· I Walk Alone

--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)