Gypsy Rose Gypsy Rose Escape Music
· Produced By: Martin Kronlund

· Running Time: 42.48

· Release Date: September 5

· Released:

· Musical Style: Melodic Hard Rock

· Links: Escape Music
Songs: 89%
Sound: 93%
Side stepping his main project Dogface, Swedish guitarist Martin Kronlund returns to his past to resurrect a band originally formed in the 80's. The guys have taken the original premise of the band and even some of their original demos and recorded them fresh this year, presenting the extremely overdue debut Gypsy Rose album.
The name may be familiar – but this is not the RCA signed American act of the late 80's/early 90s.
These guys are all Swedish and although they laid first claim on the name, a release at that time never eventuated.
What I am most impressed with here is the strength of the tracks. The debut Dogface album was nothing short of brilliant, but the follow up was short on songs. This sees Martin back to peak forum – albeit in a slightly different style, with each track offering something to the album and no fillers in sight.
Style wise, we are talking Swedish melodic hard rock at its best. There is a definite 80s vibe to the material, but a very solid production and some big similarities to classic 80s Scorpions.
Singer Hakan Gustafsson has a raspy and gritty voice in a style I haven't heard much of in recent times.
Highlights amongst the rockers include the catchy and commercial You Drive Me Crazy, the anthemic Promise To Stay (featured in demo form on the last MelodicRock compilation), the frantic rocker You Are The One and similarly tempo'd Fender '59.
Pick of the album for me is an old favourite! Queen Of The Night is a great melodic rock anthem with a catchy as hell chorus. The song was originally demoed for the debut Dogface album and it's great to finally see it featured on an album.
Hakan adds his raspy growl to the song giving it a different feel than the Mats Levin demo and it fits this album perfectly. Mats makes an appearance here on backing vocals.
The ballad Moonlight is very reminiscent of classic Scorpions (as is much of the album thanks to Hakan) and traces of Winds Of Change can be heard here.
The other big ballad is the brilliant December Night. It features a nice uptempo rhythm and a great melodic chorus.
The Bottom Line
Another great album that takes inspiration from a period in the 80s, but doesn't sound dated thanks to a beefed up production. Gypsy Rose offers something different than Dogface, but is similar enough to appeal to fans of that band.
It's a little more commercial again, so this may appeal to a different demographic too as well as fans of The Scorpions and Swedish melodic rock with an 80's twist.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Gypsy Rose
· Dogface - Unleashed
· Dogface - In Control

Line Up:
· Håkan Gustafsson: Vocals
· Martin Kronlund: Guitars
· Imre Daun: Drums
· Mats Bostedt: Bass
· Rikard Quist: Keyboards

Essential For Fans Of:
· Dogface
· Scorpions
· Fair Warning
If you enjoyed this release - also check out:
· Dogface - Unleashed
Track Listing
· When You Leave At Night
· You Drive Me Crazy*
· Promise To Stay*
· Moonlight*
· You
· Queen Of The Night*
· Burning
· Light Up My Way
· December Night*
· Fender 59
· The Look In Your Eye
--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)