Geff Land Of The Free Metal Heaven
· Produced By: Ralk Jedestedt

· Running Time: 46.07

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Hard Rock / Melodic Meal

· Links: Metal Heaven
Songs: 86%
Sound: 92%
Geff is yet another project I had lined up for Angelmilk Records and I am appreciative that Georg at Metal Heaven found the guys a home.
If there could be a Swedish supergroup of session guys, you'd have all these guys on the short list – Mr. Everywhere Goran Edman (Vocals)(Glory, Yngwie Malmsteen, John Norum, Street Talk, Kharma); Per Stadin (Snake Charmer) – Bass; Anders Johansson (Snake Charmer, Hammerfall, Yngwie Malmsteen) – Drums and Mats Olaussson (Yngwie Malmsteen, The Ark, Evil Masquerade, Kamelot, John Norum) – Keyboards.
The glue holding the band together is guitarist/songwriter Ralf Jedestedt. He put the band together and is already holed up working on album number two. Geff perform a blend of classic Scandinavian hard rock and unconventional melodic metal with a quirky twist.
It isn't progressive, but it sure isn't straight forward. It's not metal, but it's heavy enough to damage ear drums. Confused? Don't be…as pulling the whole affair together to appeal to the masses is Goran Edman, whose vocal brilliance again shines through here – lead and harmony vocals alike.
I don't think there are any filler tracks on here, but there are some that stand out a little from the pack. The fast and frenetic opening Xtacy is surely one of them – the very best of Edman on display and a great expo of keyboard fills too.
Living Generation is a rock solid groover of a song with a simple riff, but big harmonies and a rich organ.
Land Of The Free is fast and furious and almost impossible to keep up with the drum beat. This harks back to Goran's work with Yngwie.
Crusaders features a brilliant vocal and an urgent melody and is just that little bit quirky…an interesting track!
Grey Goo was so utterly perfect I asked the guys to include it on the MRCD5 compilation. Simply stunning and a chorus that can't but infect the listeners mind.
The Bottom Line
An unusual album in that the composition of the tracks doesn't follow a formula and that whole album takes several runs to appreciate it best. But there are some really good songs here and a monster vocal performance from Goran, so there are two good reasons not to ignore this.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Land Of The Free

Line Up:
· Göran Edman: Vocals
· Ralf Jedestedt: Guitars
· Anders Johansson: Drums
· Per Stadin: Bass
· Mats Olausson: Keyboards

Essential For Fans Of:
· Goran Edman
· Yngwie Malmsteen
Track Listing
· Xtacy *
· Fruits Of Life
· Living Generation *
· Land Of The Free *
· Pennywise and Pound Foolish
· Mr. Cain
· Fool's Paradise
· Crusaders *
· Grey Goo *
· Innervations

--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)