ColdSpell Infinite Stargaze Escape Music
· Produced By: Michael Larsson

· Running Time: 60.05

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Hard Rock / Melodic Metal

· Links: Escape Music
Songs: 87%
Sound: 93%
Interesting record this. Diverse in places, yet quite cohesive generally from start to finish. The self-produced album sounds great thanks to a Tommy Hansen mix (the guy can do no wrong) and vocalist Niclas Swedentorp has one of those easy to appreciate styles not unlike Ray Gillen, John Sykes and Mats Levin.
There's a touch of Badlands in there, some Blue Murder (if given a European metal feel) and perhaps even Deep Purple (if they too, were heavier and from Sweden!)
Lots of organ, lots of groove and lots of energy…not to mention plenty of guitars and a monster rhythm section.
I dig this album. It wasn't immediately catchy and took some time to live with before I found myself with their songs stuck in my head. But they did stick.
The moody and heavy mid-tempo opener Keep On Believin' is all class; the bluesy and faster paced Solid Ground rocks and then there is the Badlands groove of Ravin Mad which I love. Good chorus and such a cool groove during the verse.
The hard and heavy Eye Of The Storm is classic Mats Levin and once again grows on you with each listen. Straight Things Out is another classy rocker before the first mellower track of the album kicks in. Greed is another great rocker with a strong chorus (one of the best of the album).
The pace doesn't let up in the closing stages of the album, but it is around track 9 that things do tend to become a little familiar and some more variation would have been advantageous. However the album closes with the title track Infinite Stargaze, which is another highlight for me and clocking in a 7 minutes is a definite statement to close the album.
The Bottom Line
Not the catchiest choruses ever – perhaps some work could be done there – but still, the songs develop over time to reveal their melodies and overall this is a great sounding classic style European hard rock record. Well worthy of checking out and featuring some songs that I'll be playing for some time to come.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Infinite Stargaze

Line Up:
· Niclas Swedentorp: Vocals
· Michael Larsson: Guitars
· Tobbe Brostrom: Drums
· Tommi Partanen: Bass
· Matti Eklund: Keyboards

Essential For Fans Of:
· Badlands
· Mats Levin
· European Hard Rock
Track Listing
· Keep On Believing *
· Solid Ground *
· Raving Mad *
· Eye Of The Storm *
· Straight Things Out
· Night Falls
· Fade Away
· Greed *
· Shot Down
· All I Want
· Surrounded
· Infinite Stargaze *

--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)