Chris Laney Pure Metal Heaven
· Produced By: Chris Laney

· Running Time: 44.39

· Release Date: Out Now

· Released:

· Musical Style: Hard Rock

· Links: Chris Laney
Songs: 93%
Sound: 96%
Swedish hot-shot producer and songwriter Chris Laney has branched out to record his solo debut and is set to take the hard rock world by storm. This opus hits the mark from the opening riff and just gets better and better.
This is one of the big surprises for 2009 so far for me. Laney channels the sleaze of Motley Crue (Dr. Feelgood era), the production might of Def Leppard and the guitar power of Metallica; mixing these elements with the classic Swedish glam of Zan Clan, Crashdiet and Crazy Lixx.
Laney's vocals are brash and abrasive, always powerful and really suit the attitude of this record, although they may not be for all.
As expected the production is absolutely massive and the mix perfectly balanced.
The harmony soaked hard rocker Situation opens the album with a slamming groove, while I Dunno sees Def Leppard heavier and glammier than ever.
The furious rocker Make You Cry is something Motley Crue wish they could still write and the slower and moodier rock ballad The Stranger In You is Kiss meets Def Leppard with those huge Leppard harmonies.
Fire & Ice is even better – total groove in the verse turns to total anthem and angst in the chorus.
I Hate Your Guts and Pissed At What Ya Missed are total in your face attitude filled aggressive rockers with that dark edge and passion that some of the best known bands of total just fail to bring to the party.
Get You Down is another Def Leppard style mid-tempo hard rocker, albeit with more sleaze and growl than the band are known for.
Elsewhere Last Man Standing is a total rock hit if I ever heard one – a big Kiss style chorus and commercial appeal in spades as has the powerful ballad Skin On Skin.
The Bottom Line
Simple summary – if you like it loud, in your face and filled with layers of instrumentation and vocals…all bound in that Swedish/European delivery style – this is essential. Truly great production and some off-beat and original songwriting delivering something impressive for glam/sleaze hard rock fans all over the planet.
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Pure

Line Up:
· Chris Laney: Vocals, Guitars
· J.Koleberg: Drums
· Nalle Grizzly Påhlsson: Bass

Essential For Fans Of:
· Morley Crue
· Def Leppard
· Swedish Heavy Glam
Track Listing
· Situation *
· I Dunno *
· Make You Cry *
· The Stranger In You
· Fire & Ice *
· I Hate Yer Guts
· Get U Down
· Pissed At What Ya Missed *
· Make My Day
· Last Man Standing *
· Skin On Skin
· Pride B 4 The Fall

--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)