Blanc Faces Blanc Faces Frontiers Records
· Produced By: Brian & Robbie LaBlanc

· Running Time: 52.40

· Release Date: July 4

· Released:

· Musical Style: AOR

· Links: Frontiers
Songs: 90%
Sound: 85%
Proving AOR isn't totally dead or forgotten about; Blanc Faces offer AOR fans one of the strongest debut albums of its kind since perhaps the Mecca release.
The backbone of the band is brothers Robbie and Brian La Blanc, who both have extensive résumé's in the music world, without previously striking for solo glory.
Now is there time, as this album will firmly plant their names upon the scene as ones to watch for future releases.
The album was produced by the band, but mixed by the great Dennis Ward. Now, if ever there was an instance to award Dennis some praise, this is it. I heard the pre-mix of this album and was a little worried. But the final mix sounds great and thankfully this album has now been given the chance to compete with the big boys.
Musically this is largely uptempo, keyboard friendly AOR record, played with precision in an 80's mold that will definitely appeal to fans of old school AOR such as Survivor and Canada's Glass Tiger.
More recent comparisons are to that of Mecca and the voice of Joe Vana. Fans of that album will certainly find more to like in this.
While the mid-tempo Here's To You gets the album off to a pleasant start, it's Edge Of The World that really kicks things into gear. This is a powerful and emotion filled track with a great anthem chorus that brings back memories of such artists as James Christian and Signal.
We'll Make The Best Of It heads back into the easy going mid-tempo rhythm established by the lead track. Vocally it's a cross between Alan Frew of Glass Tiger and Joe Vana.
The ballad Stranger To Love again reminds me of the AOR stylings of Signal, which I'm sure will please those reading this.
Not every track has the impact of the album highlights, but the album itself is consistent throughout. The album quality is slightly reduced through part of the middle, but the uptempo rocker Sorry For The Heartache makes amends.
And the moody Mr. Mister like closer We Will Rise ensures that the album closes on a high note.
The Bottom Line
Another one for fans of classic American AOR. In a year dominated by strong melodic metal releases, it's great to be able to talk up a release that almost perfect fits one of the ideals that this website was originally built around: New music….new bands.…old sounds!
Discography / Previously Reviewed
· Blanc Faces

Line Up:
· Robbie La Blanc: Vocals, Rhythm Guitars
· Brian La Blanc: Bass, Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals, Percussion, Organ, Keyboards
· Kyle Woodring: Drums
· Butch Taylor: Lead Guitar
· Jeff Batter: Keyboards, Organ, Piano

Essential For Fans Of:
· Mecca
· Glass Tiger
· Survivor
If you enjoyed this release - also check out:
· Mecca - Mecca
Track Listing
· Here's To You
· Edge of The World*
· We'll Make The Best of It*
· Stranger To Love*
· Turn This World Around
· It's Little Too Late
· Staying Power
· Where Do I Go From Here
· Beneath This Heart
· Pray For Me
· Sorry For The Heartache
· We Will Rise*
--*Best Tracks

ADD YOUR OWN REVIEW! (Ratings out of 100)