Feature Artist Pages: [Night Ranger]

John Norum

John Norum updated his website with a statement a couple of days back. It was posted to my message board, but I thought it worthy of re-printing again here:
July 9, 2002:
Hi everybody, My hand has healed up nicely, and I am just working on some new material at the moment.
I don't know if I will return to Dokken, there has really been musical differences from day one, but they are like family to me and either way I wish them all the best. I'm sure we will find a way to work together very soon.
I have gotten a lot of questions about a Europe reunion, we have no plans at the moment but I do hope it will happen in the future, because we do have that magical chemistry, which you can't buy, it's very special. Right now I am working on my next solo album (or Dokken album) which is gonna be real BONE CRUSHER!
The music is kinda like Sunless Days, You (that title sucks), and Under The Gun, that's the kind of style I write, but I will take it to the next level.
Thanks for your support! John Norum

Ted Nugent

Press Release
Ted Nugent To Release New Studio Album In September
(7/9/02, 10 a.m. ET) - Ted Nugent will release the new studio album Craveman on September 24. It's his 31st release and his first studio effort for Spitfire Records, which released last year's live album, Full Bluntal Nugity.
Craveman was recorded in April at 40 Oz. Sound in Ann Arbor, Michigan and was co-produced by Nugent and brothers Drew and Chris Peters, who led the now-defunct band Getaway Cruiser and have also worked with Nugent pal Kid Rock.
The 14-track effort was performed by "The Motor City Madman" and his touring band, bassist Marco Mendoza and drummer Tommy Clufetos. Also on hand is Clufetos's father, Tommy Sr., who plays saxophone on the track Pussywhipped.
Although Nugent wrote or co-wrote all of the album's songs, Craveman features a number of interesting songwriting collaborations Damn Yankees partners Jack Blades and Tommy Shaw co-wrote Damned If Ya Do with Nugent, while Nugent and Blades also hooked up for Crave; Damon Johnson of Brother Cane and Damn Yankees co-wrote I Won't Go Away; longtime Nugent collaborator Michael Lutz and saxophonist Alto Reed from Bob Seger's Silver Bullet Band joined forces for Comin' Down Hard, which originally appeared on the soundtrack to the Jeff Daniels movie Escanaba In Da Moonlight; and Nugent teams up with bassist Mendoza on My Baby Likes My Butter On Her Gritz and Earthtones, the spacious, sweeping instrumental that closes Craveman.
Nugent, who's also promoting Kill It And Grill It, his cookbook written with wife Shemane, is currently on the road. He'll be doing some book signings while on tour, which wraps up August 31 in Las Vegas.
The full Craveman tracklisting includes: KLSTRPHNKY . Crave . Raw . Dogs & War . Hogs . Damned If Ya Do . At Home There . Cum N Gitya . Sum-O-This . Change . My Sex . I Won't Go Away . Pussywhipped . Comin' Down Hard . Wang Dang Doodle . My Baby Likes My Butter On Her Gritz . Sexpot . Earthtones
Note! KLSTRPHNKY (Originally titled Clusterfunk) and Damned If You Do are both from the 'lost' Damn Yankees 3 sessions.


I caught up with Gunnar Nelson this week to see what lay ahead for Nelson in 2002. Quite a bit it seems.
Gunnar and Matthew have just signed a new record deal with Lou Pearlman (Transcontinental Records - NSync / Backstreet Boys / Britney Spears)
The guys have another new sound for the album, described by Gunnar as modern INXS meets The Cars.
The guys will start recording in January.
In related Nelson news, Transcon's new priority boy-band Natural just recorded a cover of the first Nelson hit Love & Affection, with Gunnar, Matthew and Brian Tankersley (Lonestar's Amazed) co-producing.
Even better for the guys - it's now scheduled as a single.
Gunnar finished by saying that things are "...actually going better than it ever has before...life is good today."


Newman are currently in the studio working on their new album. Entitled Butterfly Tattoo this will be the bands fourth album and will be released on Escape Music early next year. The full track listing is as follows:
Butterfly Tattoo . Second Time Around . Private Hollywood . Wait For Me . Queen Of Suburbia . Spread My Wings And Fly . Don't Cry For Sarah . Out Of My Hands . Can You Hear Me Now . New Groove . Size Isn't Everything . Love Never Dies . I'll Say Goodbye
The album will also feature acoustic numbers from the previous two releases, these have yet to be confirmed.